Making Mistakes is O.K.

Reading Kayla Tundman’s blog post, Those Darn Decimals, points were brought up about the quick quiz that we were asked to complete as part of the week 5’s learning journal. This quiz involved 3 questions linked to a criticism of the Khan Academy and was used to show us common misconceptions when it comes to maths. I agreed with each point made in Kayla’s blog as I too struggled with decimals and due to struggling with decimals, turning them into fractions seemed impossible.

Admittedly, I struggled in sections of mathematics and other subject areas and never asked the teachers for help…I too felt that if a person was to ask a question they had made a mistake and would be judged for that. Due to this, when teaching now and in my future I intend to be the teacher that has a strong rapport with all my students so they feel safe and confident enough to approach me with a problem/question without hesitation so I can provide them with that extra scaffolding, guidance and support they need to demonstrate their best learning. I want my future students to know that everyone makes mistakes and like many quotes found on this link, making mistakes just makes you human!

Leave a comment